H is for Hotels

My fascination for hotels began in my childhood. As per my dictionary, hotels meant restaurants as well. A vacation with family meant staying in hotels. A dinner with family also meant going to a hotel. My definitions are of course, much better now.

I must admit that my tastes were pretty expensive, thanks to my dad and grandfather who spoilt me rotten.  It’s only when I began to go on trips with my friends, did I lower my expectations.

However, a part of me still relishes the luxury when the opportunity presents itself.

It’s about the air conditioned rooms, and about sinking contentedly into plush beds with blankets that pull you close in a warm embrace.

It’s about checking the bathroom excitedly to make sure there’s a bathtub, and soaking  in bubble water baths for hours together.

It’s about scribbling notes on the pad near the phone and calling for room service for the heck of it.

It’s about them sumptuous breakfasts. I frigging love breakfast buffets. I probably don’t eat as much at home.

It’s about playing carrom with my parents, or splashing around in the swimming pool.

It’s also about the individuals who work hard to ensure our stay is pleasant and comfortable. Thank you, you guys deserve all the credit.

I forgot to mention one thing. It’s about sharing the experience with your close ones.  I’m pretty sure business and corporate visits are way different than the one I’m talking about.

Come to think of it, a hotel room would have been boring without my sister to share it with. Had I been on a solo trip, I wouldn’t have really bothered about the pool or the lounge. Had it not been for my friends, I’d be cooped up in my room, probably dozing off before the television.

As strange as it sounds, back in the day my parents used to occasionally escape with me to a resort on a weekend.

George Bernard Shaw says

The great advantage of a hotel is that it is a refuge from home life.

H is for Hotels

My theme for the A-Z Blogging Challenge is ‘The A to Z of some my favourite things’. Stay tuned for more posts, this April!

7 comments

  1. afshan18 · April 10

    Interesting and good topic for h
    Yes I love hotels too, my fav part is when u join new job u get 15-20 day accommodation in 5 star hotels which is pure heaven 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • AK.Prowling · April 11

      Oh boy! My love for 5 star hotels will never diminish, haha!

      Like

  2. Geeta.Krishna · April 11

    You brought up precious memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AK.Prowling · April 11

    You’re welcome mom!

    Like

  4. Louise · April 11

    Oh! Hotels growing up for me on family vacations were all about the pool! When I got a bit older it was what kinds of soaps and shampoos they had in the bathroom. What a great choice for H – I remember this joy as a child. Thanks for bringing it back!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

