I is for Imagining scenarios for songs

This one’s an all time favorite.

I am a daydreamer. A significant portion of my day is usually reserved for this activity. Moreover, I tend to indulge in it better if there’s a song to complement it.

I usually keep my stock of favourite songs, up to date. My play-lists are flexible, designed to suit a location, a journey, my state of mind, or even the weather at times. Of course, each song caters to my crazy imagination..

Usually, I conjure a scenario in my head that fits the context of the song. The scenes I visualize are usually far-fetched, almost Bollywood-esque. Often, it’s do with the song lyrics.  Sometimes, I envision myself performing before a large, receptive audience.

For instance, Ray Charles and Clapton bring out the blues in me and bam! I’m on  stage, belting out a punchy guitar lick.

Often, it’s about sitting before Mayer, while he sings about slow dancing with me in a burning room. Sigh.

When I heard Adele’s “Someone Like You” for the first time, I was reduced to tears. I imagined being dumped by an incredibly good looking guy, passionate, yet someone cruel enough to forget me and live a happily with another woman.

On the other hand, when I listen to “Phir le aaya dil” composed by Pritam,  or  ‘Fidelity‘ by Regina Spektor, I imagine falling in love once again, initially resisting the idea, but then giving in.

Here are some of my favorite songs and the scenes that play in my head when I hear them –

Heer Toh Badi Sad Hai” – I’m in grad-school, knee-deep in coursework,  dissatisfied and stressed out. I have no social life, and I’m roughing it out. I down cups of caffeine to keep myself going. For the sake of this song, I’m the quintessential introvert (yes, you can laugh), sometimes reminiscing about a defunct relationship.

Kala Chashma” – I’m dancing to the song and giving Katrina Kaif a run for her money.

“Dil Chahta Hai” – I am with my best friends in Goa, watching the sunset from the Chapora Fort.  (ok, I’ve literally ripped off a scene from the movie).

“Adventure of a Lifetime” by Coldplay – This usually reminds me of my vacation in London. I imagine bumping into Chris Martin and his pet chimpanzee on the streets (he obviously doesn’t own one for real!)  A weird adventure, indeed.

“Alone in Kyoto” by Air – A relaxing, beautiful instrumental that transports me to the sea. I imagine I’m floating, facing the sky and observing the clouds as they adopt strange shapes.

The list is endless. But I’ll conclude with an absolute favourite –

Clarity by John Mayer – I’m by myself, possibly by the seaside, basking in the sun, feeling lighter than usual. For once, I’m comfortable in my own skin. Soon, I see my dog – a fluffy golden retriever – bounding towards me in excitement.

And I will wait to find if this will last forever.. 

I is for Imagining scenarios for songs

My theme for the A-Z Blogging Challenge is ‘The A to Z of some my favourite things’. Stay tuned for more posts, this April!

P.S: I am running slightly late. Post for the letter ‘J’ should be up by tonight!

8 comments

  1. Shweta Suresh · April 12

    Haha I’m a daydreamer too! But I usually tend to associate each song when an emotion. My playlist is of course updated because I never know which song I might be in the mood to listen to!!! Loved reading this post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: J is for John Mayer’s music | Akoustik
  3. Debbie D. · April 17

    We have a love of music in common. 🙂 I used to imagine myself singing on stage, but now I mostly relive the memories brought up by a song.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Louise · April 17

    Oh – this is such a fun idea 🙂 I do similar things with songs, but not quite this. For example, I’m a fan of theme music in my head for various life events. Ie: nervous walking into a room of stangers? I have a song that plays in my head for that. And so forth …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

