J is for John Mayer’s music

A friend rightly said, “Mayer will always be that teenage love one never gets over”.

I had taken a break from his music until he released the first two installments of his recent album – ‘The Search For Everything’.

Okay, I adore his music. He’s a fantastic guitarist, a fine singer-songwriter, and sure, his good looks are a bonus too. Though his themes center largely around love and heartbreak – an instant crowd-pleaser (and fodder for mediocrity) –  he has managed to carve a niche for himself in a competitive industry.

The Internet is abundant with articles about his achievements, his infamous link-ups and relationships. I am not here to elaborate on that. Mayer, the Casanova, is also an incredible musician. His music has saved me from many a rough patch. It  inspires me to challenge my guitar skills. When I think of Mayer, the words that come to my head are ‘passion’ and ‘dedication’. The image of a thirteen year old boy earnestly practicing scales on his beloved Fender Strat, makes me happy.

Mayer’s songs are powerful mood-changers with melancholic to sunny undertones.  Often, I find myself quoting his lyrics because they resonate with me. Here are my favourites –

A song that gets me through my anxious phases

I worry, I weigh three times my body
I worry, I throw my fear around
But this morning there’s a calm I can’t explain
The rock candy’s melted, only diamonds now remain

Clarity (link to my previous post)

A song to boost my confidence when I feel dejected

Down to the wire
I wanted water, but I’ll walk through the fire
If this is what it takes to take me even higher
Then I’ll come through, like I do
When the world keeps testing me, testing me, testing me

-Vultures

A song that nails what discontentment feels like,

I’m not alone
I wish I was
‘Cause then I’d know I was down because I couldn’t find a friend around
To love me like they do right now

-Something’s Missing

A song that voices my fear of growing up and outliving my parents

So scared of getting older
I’m only good at being young
So I play the numbers game
To find a way to say that life has just begun

-Stop this train

And finally, this one’s been on loop for the longest time. There’s a difference between falling in love with the idea of a person, and that with the person himself.

Who do you love?
Me or the thought of me?
Me or the thought of me?

-I don’t trust myself (with loving you)

This list isn’t exhaustive by any means.

There is no way I’ll tire of his music. Nope.

J is for John Mayer’s music

My theme for the A-Z Blogging Challenge is ‘The A to Z of some my favourite things’. Stay tuned for more posts, this April!

4 comments

  1. Louise · April 13

    Always fun to find fellow music posts! I admit to not thinking a whole lot about Joyn Mayer’s music. Like you describe, I think love songs. I’ll go take a closer listen.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keith's Ramblings · April 13

    Pure poetry. It’s so easy to listen to the music but not hear the lyrics.

    Another day in Amble Bay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

