K,  L and M are for Keepsakes, Letters with Memories attached.

Aaaaand I’m lagging behind. The past two days have been hectic. So I thought of something innovative (err..not really). Today’s post will be a combination of the letters ‘K’ and ‘L’ and ‘M’

I’m a number one hoarder. By this I don’t imply compulsive tendencies. It also doesn’t mean that I’m a tight-wad. I like to keep some of my memories tangible in the form of miscellaneous items, however jaded they may be – almost empty perfume bottles, broken bracelets, frayed diaries, a Math book with yellowing pages, remnant crayons from a once lavish colouring-set, coffee mugs, unpaired earrings, keychains, movie tickets, vacation checklists, fountain pens,  worn out tee-shirts and sweaters, defunct earphones and wrist watches, shoes I have outgrown and the list goes on. Most of the stuff I’ve mentioned is associated with people I know; these are keepsakes that I’ll cherish forever.

Not everything worth keeping has to be useful

-Cynthia Lord

I have a box full of letters, notes and postcards that I have collected over the years.  No electronic mail can match up to receiving handwritten thoughts, confessions, or greetings from your close ones. Opening the box is akin to taking a trip down memory lane.

I have treasured some Inland letters from my great grandmother. Her words fill me with warmth to this day, despite her tiny scrawl running across the pages. They always end with “I miss you”.  I used to write back to her excitedly, inquiring about Raja, our German Shepherd. I reminisce walking to the postbox with my grandfather to post my letters.

I have notes from my school mates that I received on the last day of school. Back then, it was a ritual to exchange memo sheets before parting ways. I was happy to be leaving school because I’d been a nobody for the most part (or rather, I felt like one) . I recall the gush of emotions on reading some of those notes. It was unexpected. I hadn’t been invisible to everyone after all.

Amidst the assortment, there are some beautiful yet quirky handmade birthday cards from my best friends and sister.  I feel a twinge of nostalgia on revisiting them every now and then. The cards aren’t just about the wishes and greetings, but also about the efforts underlying their very existence. I feel loved.

It’s been a while since I unearthed this box. On a bad day, these written keepsakes have the power to lift my mood.

I’ll write to you. A super-long letter, like in an old-fashioned novel

-Murakami

Seldom will I forget someone who has written me a note. And likewise, I make it a point to write one back.

K,  L and M are for Keepsakes, Letters, with Memories attached

My theme for the A-Z Blogging Challenge is ‘The A to Z of some my favourite things’. Stay tuned for more posts, this April!

11 comments

  1. blikachuka · April 16

    I have a couple small boxes that are just filled with keepsakes. some are not that important to me now, but they are small, and they remind me of what was important to past me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AK.Prowling · April 17

      That’s a lovely thing to do! I think I might do that too. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Shweta Suresh · April 17

    This is so relatable. I’m a hoarder too. I have a huge box that’s filled with many tokens and keepsakes. It’s like a box full of memories. It is indeed a ticket to “a trip down memory lane.” Sometimes I open the board, take out all the contents and lose myself in the memories that come floating to my mind. Each and every item in that box is precious and has an even more beautiful memory associated with it. “I feel a twinge of nostalgia on revisiting them every now and then.” Me too. “I have notes from my school mates that I received on the last day of school. Back then, it was a ritual to exchange memo sheets before parting ways.” Ditto here. It feels so good to read those scribbled farewell notes now. “On a bad day, these written keepsakes have the power to lift my mood.” Oh yes. I have been there. Done that! I loved this post. It was like a glimpse into my own thoughts about my memory box! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • AK.Prowling · April 17

      Thank you so much Shweta! I am glad you could relate to it so much! It’s time to catch up with your posts!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Shweta Suresh · April 17

        It’s so hard to catch up. Take your time. Don’t worry! And it was an absolute pleasure to read your posts. 😊

        Like

  3. My daughter and I love holding on to our tangible memories, even when the keepsakes are broken or tattered. Unfortunately, my husband is a thrower, and both my daughter and I are constantly looking for ways to hide our stuff so he doesn’t try to throw it away.

    Namaste: Exotic Words with no English Equivalent

    Liked by 1 person

    • AK.Prowling · April 17

      Oh my dad’s a thrower too! My mum and I hide our stuff as well!

      Like

  4. Louise · April 17

    I have a box of saved letters as well. No doubt those are special memories. I pull it out every now and then to remember too 🙂 Collection of letters from my grandmother and from friends mostly.

    Like

  5. Pingback: N is for New Notebooks | Akoustik
  6. Geeta.Krishna · April 21

    You’re just like both your grandmoms! I’m guilty too of hoarding precious little notes scrawled by your tiny hands when you were little! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

