N is for New Notebooks

If you’ve read my previous post, you must be aware that I hoard stuff.

The miscellany of items I have accumulated over the years also includes notebooks. Notebooks in all sizes and shapes, hard or soft-bound.

When I was a kid, I used to eagerly anticipate the arrival of new school books. In India, most schools provide textbooks and notebooks prior to the commencement of the upcoming academic year. I used to turn each page delicately and run my hand across it to get a feel of its smooth texture. The rustling sound of them fresh crispy pages was music to my ears. Old-book smell is already a thing, but in my opinion, the ‘new-book’ smell is equally heady!  Obviously some things never change, and I repeat this ritual each time I buy a book!

Call it another one of my idiosyncratic tendencies, but I leave new notebooks untouched for a few days before filling up their pages. I make sure I write neatly. Yup, I add the date and page number as well. Though I resolve to keep my handwriting consistent until the very last page, my ambitious plans never materialize. The result is a disastrous scrawl towards the end of the book, followed by the urge to start afresh. But I hate wasting pages.

Here’s a page from my notebook/journal

IMG_20161225_111824_527

I wrote this on Christmas. (I have cropped the photo, because um..what I’ve written later is embarrassing). See what tops the list?

N is for New Notebooks

P.S : I am really lagging behind but I’m not going to give up. I should hopefully catch up by the end of this week!

My theme for the A-Z Blogging Challenge is ‘The A to Z of some my favourite things’. Stay tuned for more posts, this April!

5 comments

  1. Shweta Suresh · April 21

    I also do that every time I buy a book. The smell is so good. Thank God I’m not the only one. And the handwriting, oh yes. My notes start off neatly enough but towards the end, it’s a complete disaster! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a thing for the fragrance of new and old books alike. The beginning of a new academic year sees me sniffing my children’s notebooks, greedily inhaling. I’ve even taught my kids to enjoy the smell.
    In fact, I was once asked what kind of a perfume I would consider using (I don’t like perfumes). I replied, the smell of an old book or a new notebook. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

