Jams and jims

Improvisation and jam go together like bread and butter.

I’m a free bird! It’s time to say bye bye to exams, biochemistry and dull textbooks. Hello holidays! 🙂

The first thought that I ran into my head the second I stepped out of the lab was to call a friend with whom I could jam. It’s nice to have friends who are musically inclined. I thought of my guitar and all those tunes I improvised while staring at random words in my book. I have two months of freedom stretching ahead of me. I can probably implement all my plans and ideas.

Jam. It has its types.It’s unpleasant when it’s on the road, Traffic’s best friend. It could even befriend a shutting door and hurt your fingers, if they accidentally come in its way.

But.

 It’s delicious on a golden toast with buttery edges. It’s wonderfully sweet, with an essence of strawberries or pineapples or mangoes or a combination of all.

It plays the best role in music. It gives all musicians a high. It gets you drunk on riffs and lyrics, produced on the spur. A moment that is musically charged can make you head-bang or make your fingers go crazy on the fretboard or give your vocal cords a kick. There is no audience to please or a stage that can make you nervous. It’s about making music that delights you, without giving a damn and sometimes it’s better than a high that a stage performance or a gig renders.

I’m sure you must have figured which one’s my favorite.

Take your pick!

8 comments

  1. nutschell · April 11, 2012

    I love jamming! i actually miss jamming with friends since I'm so busy working.
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com
    Dropping by from the A-Z!

    Like

  2. Texas Yellow Rose · April 11, 2012

    There's nothing like the jamming of a drum circle, when everyone has their groove going. Happy holidays to you!

    Like

  3. Heather Murphy · April 12, 2012

    I love your take on jam! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Like

  4. Anjali Krishna · April 12, 2012

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  5. Sangita Kalarickal · April 12, 2012

    Nothing like jamming with friends, you're right! I for one am waiting to hear those tunes that run through your head.
    Happy summer!

    Like

  6. Geeta Krishna · April 16, 2012

    How I miss my jamming days, Anjali!

    Like

  7. Anjali Krishna · April 16, 2012

    My pleasure!

    Like

  8. Anjali Krishna · April 16, 2012

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

